BREAKING: Blues Star Forward Injured After Dirty Hit

Published October 14, 2023 at 10:10 PM

In tonight's game, Pavel Buchnevich had to exit early because of a dirty crosscheck from Kraken defenseman Jamie Oleksiak.

Oleksiak Delivers A Dirty Cross Check On Buchnevich

During the second period, Jamie Oleksiak crosschecked Pavel Buchnevich while the Kraken were on a penalty kill. Surprisingly, the referees didn't call a penalty for the play.

Here's the hit on Pavel Buchnevich in the first period by Jamie Oleksiak on a Blues power play, shown on @BallySportsMW.

Although the crosscheck might have seemed ordinary, it caused Buchnevich to collide awkwardly with the boards behind the net. He went to the Blues' bench and later left the game.

Pavel Buchnevich has an upper-body injury and will not return to tonight's game. #stlblues

Buchnevich's injury is concerning for the Blues, as he was supposed to play a crucial role in the team's push for the playoffs. If he misses a large portion of the season, the Blues may have to scramble and trade for another star forward.
October 14   |   30 answers
BREAKING: Blues Star Forward Injured After Dirty Hit

Should Oleksiak be suspended for this hit?

Yes2273.3 %
No826.7 %
Latest 10 stories